Tracy Terpening Avatar

Scholarship Year:


Tracy Terpening


University of South Alabama

Studying In:

Spain (Summer)

Journal Entries

More About This Scholar

Hi, my name is Tracy Terpening and I grew up in Annapolis, MD. I am 40 years old and I have conquered many difficult circumstances in my life to get where I am today. I started college at the age of 37 and have not looked back since. At times, it has been an uphill battle, but I have gathered my wealth of wisdom, experience, resourcefulness and strong will. As a result, I have been able to confront and rise above all obstacles and my positive attitude has kept me on my path. In addition, I have maintained a grade point average of 4.0.

I am currently studying Foreign Languages with a concentration in Spanish at the University of South Alabama in Mobile. Thanks to FEA, I will be spending the summer of 2013 studying Spanish abroad in an immersion program in Madrid, Spain, which will allow me to meet academic requirements to major in Spanish. I also plan to major in English, with an emphasis on Professional Writing, a field in which I will be able to use my translation skills. I plan to pursue a career in which I can influence society to be more tolerant of other cultures and lifestyles. Outside of my field, I plan to find ways to contribute to the integration of Hispanic culture into the United States. Additionally, I aspire to help women and children who are the victims of domestic violence, as well as members of the LGTBQI community; thus being bilingual will enable me to reach that many more people.


No posts were found by this author.