Rainbow Scholarship

The Rainbow Scholarship

Made Possible By: The generous support of a group of international education professionals who are committed to advocating on behalf of LGBTQI students. These professionals counsel international and study abroad LGBTQI students, support their LGBTQI colleagues in the field, and collaborate through groups created with the support of NAFSA and the Forum for Education Abroad.

Description: This scholarship will be awarded to deserving LGBTQI students who aims to participate in a high-quality, rigorous education abroad program. Applicants must be U.S. citizens or permanent residents currently enrolled as an undergraduate at a college or university in the U.S. Study abroad programs must be at least 4 weeks (28 days) in length to receive an FEA scholarship.

Previous Recipients:

  • Kevin Fong, Colby College, Netherlands, Germany, Poland, and the Czech Republic, Fall 2020
  • Mayeline Pena, Smith College, Spain, Spring 2020
  • Reynaldo Bujan, Phoenix College, England, Scotland & France, Summer 2019
  • Ingnacio Carmona, University of Texas at Austin, Italy, Summer 2019
  • Ariana Davis, Temple University, Cuba, Summer 2019
  • Darren De Leon, University of California, Irvine, England, Fall 2019
  • Oluwaseun Oshodi, Pitzer College, Japan, Fall 2019
  • Gerard Avelino, California State University, Fullerton, France, Academic Year 2018-2019
  • Jane Ly, University of California, Los Angeles, Japan, Summer 2018
  • Jazmyn Mustafa, Ohio State University, Scotland, Summer 2018
  • Valencia Briseus, University of South Florida, Japan, Fall 2017
  • Anthony Galura, University of California, Berkeley, Singapore, Summer 2017
  • Kevin Pham, Vassar College, Jordan, Spring 2018
  • Vanessa Watson, Fashion Institute of Technology, France, Summer 2017, and China, Spring 2018
  • Michael Clark, Borough of Manhattan Community College (CUNY), Uganda & Rwanda, Fall 2016
  • Kylie Kinion, Tulsa Community College, Japan, Fall 2016
  • Clifford Alonzo, University of San Francisco, South Korea, Summer 2015
  • Arati Warrier, University of Texas at Austin, Guatemala, Summer 2015
  • Michael McLeod, Rochester Institute of Technology, Japan, Summer 2014
  • Nicolas Sawyer, University of Central Florida, Czech Republic, Academic Year 2014-2015
  • Victoria LaFara, Portland Community College, England, Spring 2014
  • Abraham Martin, University of Wisconsin, Platteville, Thailand, Academic Year 2012-2013