on March 24, 2015 on 3/24/15

Fund for Education Abroad (FEA) Announces the 2015-2016 Scholarship Recipients

by: Fund for Education Abroad

Download the full press release.
Washington, DC – March 24, 2015 – Thirty-six highly qualified students were selected to receive scholarships for study abroad from the Fund for Education Abroad (FEA), an increase of fifteen scholars over the previous year. These 2015-2016 scholarship winners were selected from a pool of almost 1650 applicants representing approximately 525 US colleges and universities. A team of 110 reviewers individually read and reviewed each application.

FEA awards scholarships to students who demonstrate compelling academic plans and financial need, and gives preference to applicants underrepresented in study abroad so that the demographics of FEA scholars are similar to those of the US undergraduate student population. Of this year’s recipients, 72% are first-generation college students, 75% are of minority background, 53% attend minority-serving institutions or community colleges, 58% will study in non-traditional destinations, and 92% are studying the host country language.

Three students were awarded Academic Year Scholarships up to $10,000, including:

Brandon Morrissette, Plymouth State University (South Korea), BASAA Scholar
Juli Smith, University of Loyola New Orleans (Taiwan)
Sodany Soy, UMass Boston (South Korea), BASAA Scholar

Thirteen students were awarded Semester Scholarships of $5,000, including:

Jennifer Au, UC Irvine (China)
Samiya Farah, Johnson County Community College (Italy)
Austin Thomas Johnson, University of New Mexico (South Korea)
Raymond Cobb, Mt. San Antonio College (England)
Karen Conde, University of Texas, Arlington (South Korea)
Emily Doyle, Portland State University (Japan), PDX Abroad Scholar
Derrick Harshberger, UC Berkeley (Denmark), Rainbow Scholar
Max Meyer, New Mexico State University (Sweden)
Phuong Tran, Ohio State University (Japan)
Lucia Villarruel, University of Texas, Austin (France)
Sowda Ahmed, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities (United Arab Emirates), Minnesota Scholar
Charles Bollig, Colorado State University (Taiwan)
Nicole Marie Vuceta, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (China)

Twenty students were awarded Summer Scholarships up to $3,125, including:

Clifford Alonzo, University of San Francisco (South Korea), Rainbow Scholar
Brian Anderson, University of Nevada, Las Vegas (Chile)
Karon Cannon, Fashion Institute of Technology (Japan)
Leyanis Diaz, Florida International University (Cambodia, Thailand & Vietnam), Hiliary Echo Douglas Memorial Scholar
Nigel Dowling, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee (Kyrgyzstan)
Kenyatta Irvin, Los Angeles City College (Spain)
Amber Chalise Little Kennedy, Albany State University (China)
Emefa Kludze, New York University (South Korea)
Ashley Knight-Williams, Howard University (Thailand & Cambodia)
Taeilorae Levell, Howard University (Tunisia)
Lucas Mackey, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Taiwan)
Joanna Magana, UC Riverside (Japan)
Georgia Papconstadinou, Bunker Hill Community College (Czech Republic), BASAA Scholar
John Phillips, California State University San Marcos (Jordan)
Rebekah Thorne, Shoreline Community College (South Africa)
Tuyet Nhi Tran, University of Texas, Austin (China)
Marisa Vickers, Texas State University (France)
Arati Warrier, University of Texas, Austin (Guatemala), Rainbow Scholar
LaVannah Watt, University of Texas, Arlington (Costa Rica)
Rocks Zayda, Portland Community College (Chile), PDX Abroad Scholar

FEA offers general and dedicated scholarships. Dedicated scholarships include several regional scholarships and a Rainbow scholarship for students nationwide who self-identify as LGBTQI. Dedicated scholarships are made possible by the generous support and fundraising efforts of FEA volunteers, including:

• Boston Area Study Abroad Association (BASAA) members to benefit students attending Massachusetts, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Rhode Island or Connecticut colleges and universities
• Minnesota international educators to benefit students attending Minnesota colleges and universities
• PDX Abroad members to benefit students attending Portland, Oregon/ Vancouver, WA-area colleges and universities
• Texas international educators to benefit students attending a Texas college or university
• Rainbow SIG of NAFSA members to benefit self-identified LGBTQI students attending any US college or university

The Hiliary Echo Douglas Memorial Scholarship is awarded in memory of Hiliary Echo Douglas, a study abroad advocate, beloved daughter, wife, mother, and colleague. The scholarship is awarded annually to a student who demonstrates Hiliary’s love for Vietnam and other cultures, her desire to give back to the world community, and her contagious love of life.

The mission of the Fund for Education Abroad (FEA) is to increase opportunities for dedicated American students to participate in high-quality, rigorous education abroad programs by reducing financial restrictions through the provision of grants and scholarships.

For additional information on FEA or our scholarships, please visit our webpage at www.fundforeducationabroad.org or contact us via e-mail at [email protected]